Cobbetts Open Doubles 2009

Sunday, April 12th 2009

There were 18 teams at Burridge on Easter Sunday for the Cobbetts Open Doubles.

Dave and Alan, last year’s plate winners, were trying to go one better this year by winning the main competition. With a 12-5 lead in the final they seemed set to achieve this but Paul and Sheila hit back in style by taking 6 points in the next end. However, Dave and Alan recovered to win the next end and the honour of being the first names on the new perpetual trophy.

7 players made it to the final of the ‘Shoot the Egg’ competition and the first round saw Dave, Tomasz, Chris Barron, Sam Thatcher and Mike Knight eliminated. Mark Duncan, the winner the previous week at Hampshire Rose, could not quite repeat the feat and eventually shared the prize with Steve Lombard.  John Limburn of Shedfield won the pointing competition.

Main Winners                       Alan Forse & Dave Stubbs (Cobbetts)

Runners-up                          Paul & Sheila Hayward (Limesdowne)

Semi-finalists                        Karen Lombard (Hampshire Rose) & Callum Lombard (Cobbetts)

                                             Graham Galton & David Plumhoff (Southampton City)

Main Consolage Winners   
Steve Lombard (Cobbetts)
& Hannah Lombard (Hampshire Rose)

       Runners-up    Loren Butt & Patrick Conem (Shedfield)

Plate Winners 
Mike Knight & Tomasz Rypien (Lamb)

         Runners-up                 Jackie Corp (Cobbetts) & Wendy Thatcher (Southampton City)

Plate Consolage Winners    Mark Duncan & Beth Godwin (Hampshire Rose)

Wooden Spoon Winners  
Kaylee Thatcher & Sam Thatcher (Southampton City)

Best Junior                           Callum Lombard (Cobbetts)