Cobbetts Open Doubles 2011

Sunday, April 10th 2011

There was a clear blue sky and warm sunshine for the full-house of 32 teams at Burridge on Sunday, 10th April. Unfortunately several other teams had to be turned away but those present were treated to superb weather, great food and excellent prizes, with all the entry money returned as trophies, wine and chocolate. After the morning leagues, the top 16 teams went through to the main knockout and the remaining 16 to the plate, with a consolage competition in both for the first round losers. One of the favoured teams, Dean Seville and Graham Elcome, were beaten by Paul and Sheila Hayward in the first round of the knock-out but did go on to win the Main Consolage. Dave and Alan, having won the competition in 2009 and been runners-up last year, were hoping to make it three finals in a row but were narrowly beaten 13-10 by Rich and Tomasz in the semi-finals. Paul and Sheila beat John and Bob in the other semi. In a hard fought final Paul and Sheila eventually triumphed 13-10 to become worthy winners. There were teams present from all corners of the region, including Poole Pirates from the west and a couple of teams from Handcross in the east and it was nice to see one of those Handcross teams, Nigel and Tony, taking home a trophy after defeating Tracey and Stuart in the Plate final. Sam Thatcher from Southampton City won the shoot-the-egg competition.

The 18 teams that won prizes were as follows:

Main Winners                      Paul Hayward & Sheila Hayward (Limesdowne)

Runners-up                         Richard Greeves (Cobbetts) & Tomasz Rypien (Arundel)

Semi-finalists                       Alan Forse & Dave Stubbs (Cobbetts)

                                            John Limburn & Bob Bish (Shedfield)

Quarter-finalists                   David Plumhoff (Southampton City) & Sean Prendergast (Farmhouse)

                                            Mike Tull (Bordon) & Sam Thatcher (Southampton City)

                                            Chris Barron & Simon Greeves (Cobbetts)

                                            Matt Slater & Jenny Peerman (Bordon)

Main Consolage Winners    Dean Seville & Graham Elcome (Adur) 

                     Runners-up    Jed Stone & Danny Corp (Limesdowne)

Semi-finalists                       Wayne & Kaylee Thatcher (Southampton City)

                                             Alison Stubbs & Mike Porter (Cobbetts)

Plate Winners                      Nigel Sibbring & Tony Kidd (Handcross)

         Runners-up                Tracey Elcome (Adur) & Stuart Floyd (Cobbetts)

Semi-finalists                       Derek & Linda Ashmore (Limesdowne)

                                             Mari Gravell & Terry Rixon (Cobbetts)

Plate Consolage Winners    Mike & Christine Kateley (ABC)      

                      Runners-up    Norman & Anthea Staines (Shedfield)